1. Ask yourself if you want kids or would like kids in the near future

If you have 0.1% doubt that you may regret this decision, DON’T DO IT. Take a couple of days to think about this decisions and how it will affect you. You will never(if successful) be able to have baby. Reversal is an option, but often costly, not covered by insurance and does not have a high success rate… You even have to consider the negatives.
-Who will take care of you when you get older
-Are you prepared for the negative comments from the “normal” people
-Will you feel jealous of other people with children
-If single, are you prepared to tell your boyfriend that you had your tubes tied?
-If married, what if your hubby changes his mind and wants kids?

These concerns and many others should come to play. I suggest talking to someone, but not just ANYONE. You’d be surprised how many people who love you and care about you will turn your back on you or make rude remarks when you tell them that you do not want kids. I suggest speaking to someone who is open mined about the surgery(Me! tubestiednokids@hotmail.com) to give you positive feedback. If you do contact me and I feel that the surgery is not a good fit, I’ll let you know! Having kids isn’t for everyone, but having your tubes tied is not for everyone, either….

2. Research different types of birth control FIRST!

There are many, many types of birth control is this world and a lot of it is given for free. There may be an option for you that you never considered. If you are looking for something more…. longer lasting, try looking up IUD’s…. If none of these are for you, lets go to the next step.

3. Research different types of sterilization
Or even consider male sterilization!!!

Laparoscopic sterilization — Laparoscopic sterilization is a surgical procedure that is done in an operating room at a time other than after childbirth. General or regional (eg, spinal) anesthesia is usually recommended. During the procedure, a small incision is made near the belly button and in the lower abdomen and a telescope-like device (a laparoscope) is used to view the fallopian tubes. The physician uses rings or clips to close the fallopian tubes; alternately, the physician seals the tubes shut with heat.

Minilaparotomy — A minilaparotomy is a surgical procedure done one to two days after childbirth. It is done in an operating room using general, regional, or local anesthesia. The physician makes a small incision (one to three inches) in the abdomen, then removes a section of the fallopian tubes on each side. In the postpartum period, the procedure does not lengthen the hospital stay.

One advantage of minilaparotomy is that a tissue specimen is removed to ensure that the fallopian tubes have been completely cut. Disadvantages of minilaparotomy include a greater need for pain medication, a slightly longer recovery time, and a larger surgical incision than with a laparoscopic procedure [4].

(Essure)Hysteroscopic sterilization — Hysteroscopic sterilization is a procedure that may be done in the office or operating room using local anesthesia. The Essure permanent birth control procedure uses a tiny coil mechanism, which is inserted through the cervix and uterus into the fallopian tubes (picture 1).

I’ve read a review about the doctor that was going to do my surgery; the grammar wasn’t horrible, but it was bad. I can’t speak about others’ grammar, but hers was noteworthy. She claims that this doctor tied her tubes, knowing that she would want to have more kids in the future. I believe she had the “clamps” put on her tubes, I am not sure, and she was angry that the surgery, commonly referred to as getting your tubes tied, made it kinda difficult to have babies in the future.

Kathrine D. May 21, 2012
Dreams lost is Haste ★☆☆☆☆

First off I want to thank DR ********* for delivering 3 out of 5 of my children. He was an awesome Dr. to me and I really wish he had been there for my last child due to the fact he knew me, my background and what I wanted for my future. Well Doc, I did not get the care you thought your fellow Doctors would give me.
Now the hard cold truth:
As a OBGYN, ****** was great. BUT- do not ask for a tubal ligation if you EVER want to have children again! I was told I would be able to reverse my tubal in 7 years if I wanted to try to have a family again. I agreed. After I gave birth to my daughter, This DR and Dr ******* each took a side and stated “On your Mark, Get set… GO!!” Needless to say I CANNOT have a reversal! THEY STERILIZED ME! To this day I have Bowel problems, anger issues, weight problems and pain! My periods are all messed up and the most important, I can NEVER have another baby! Thanks alot jerks, glad that a “Race” was more important than the well-being or wishes of your patient. the only drug in my system was for the spinal they put on you for surgery. All nurses LEFT the operating room and all that was left was me and these two doctors. If you doubt who I am if you are reading this, check medical records for Oct 31, 2003 Mid-State Medical Center. Operation C-Section Tubal Ligation(NOT STERILIZATION!). Thanks for killing my dreams.

Now that I go back and re-read this, This isn’t actually talking about my doctor. The first set of stars was my doctor’s name. The second and third set were two different names. This post is all over the place and does not make sense. What I am getting from reading this nightmarish review is that she wanted a permanent birth control option for seven years and then she wanted to have an easy reversal when she was ready to have kids. Uh, Sounds like she needs an IUD…. I say she is an idiot for not researching for herself. Plus, my doctor went into detail and made sure that I knew that this was pretty much permanent…

4. Get your information together!

If you are a single, young lady, you cannot just go into a doctor’s office and tell the doctor that you want your tubes tied. S/he will definitely say NO! You need to have information upon information. I generally think that you need a legitimate reason for wanting your tubes tied or else it may just be a passing fad in your life. Your first reason should be that you do not want kids. You want this to be your first and foremost reason because it nullifies all of the reversals the doctors will try to make on your other statements. Anything other than this reason leaves room for the doctor to question you.

-I don’t make enough money, The doctor will say that you may get another job to support yourself.
-I don’t want to ruin my body…. Ok, this is just a no-no to even bring up. This is one of my reasons, also, but I would never tell it to anyone(except you, dear readers) and it is like the last reason on my list…
-I could never see myself as a parent, the doctor will say that you need to mature some more.

Ect, etc.

Basically, anything other than you just plain not wanting kids and the risks of passing down certain illnesses can be countered successfully. So, give either of the two reasons as your first reason, and then, go with your sub reasons, whatever they might be. I’ll make a list of good reasons, bad reasons and how they are all countered by a doctor in another thread.

I think it will be slightly easier for you to have this done, if you have a child or two or three. Not entirely easier, but you can use your kids as an advantage in your reasonings.

Also, don’t lie. If you do lie, make it a white lie. Sometimes you need to do what you have to do. I am not talking about telling your doctor that you have cancer when you really don’t. But sometimes, you can…. fudge the truth. I can say that I didn’t really have to do this…. It’s your call.

Part 2 is coming later. Thank you for reading.

